Order of the Torch

The Order of the Torch is the annual award for the most outstanding chapters of Alpha Lambda Delta in the nation. Each year, up to five chapters may be awarded the Order of the Torch. Chapters submit a scrapbook, describing their activities during the past year. The scrapbooks are then judged by a committee of National Council members, and the winning chapters are presented with an award banner at a special ceremony!

The 2016 Order of the Torch Recipients:

  • Purdue University
  • University of California – Los Angeles
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Southern California

On November 3rd, 2016, our Executive Board accepted the 2016 Order of the Torch award from Carrie Arnold, a representative from the National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta.


Maintaining the Flame


Our Order of the Torch Banner was prominently displayed at our Fall 2016 Induction.

Chapters who are awarded the Order of the Torch are ineligible to apply for the award for the next four years. To reward chapters that have continued to excel in programming, activities, and service, the National Council awards the Maintaining the Flame award to chapters who are ineligible for the Torch. Winners receive a patch to affix to their Order of the Torch banner.